halloreo.blogg.se

Black elk peak
Black elk peak












black elk peak

I enjoyed some whiskey and thought to myself how cool it was to be inside of this metal box, deep in the Black Hills, as it was snowing. I heard a couple of Canada geese fly in, and then honk to each other for a good half hour. I used the turned off heater to dry my socks (I LOVE this heater!!!)Īs the sun began to set the snow picked up and the parking lot emptied. I turned off the heater and was able to re-light the candle about 5 minutes later, using a flashlight in the meantime. This reminded me a bit of a canary in a coal mine, and I found it useful information. I also lit a candle because I like candles, and even learned a little something: When the heater burns up all the oxygen the candle will go out. I have a heavy-duty indoor heater, and it usually works so well I only keep it on for a few minutes before turning it off. I watched the snow, and turned on my heater for a bit as I read I went back to my truck and decided to read until it was time for bed. Here’s a look at the trailhead entrance in the daylight I got out and walked around to find the start of the trailhead, and it started to snow. I sat in my truck and ate my sandwich and people watched as I jotted down the day’s notes in my journal. It’s currently spring and because it was so late in the season I was worried for their safety, but they weren’t the only ones doing this: I saw several more parties venture out onto the ice, and all left unscathed. Sylvan Lake appeared frozen, and I was astonished to see a family, 2 parents with young kids, walking single-file over the ice. I saw them with boxed up meals, lining up to receive them and eating them in their vehicles before driving off. I finally found a spot I could back into, and realized why the lot was full: the local police were handing out food and supplies (laundry detergent) to local Lakota.

black elk peak

The dirt lot was inaccessible due to mud, and there seemed to be an awful lot of people walking around. I drove around looking for a spot, only to find the parking lot almost full. I paid the $20, which gave me entrance to the park for 1-7 days, and drove to the Sylvan Lake picnic area. It said curfew was 10pm-6am (strictly enforced) but other than that, no rules on sleeping in my truck. There was an information pamphlet, and I scoured it, looking for information on camping, or if I could stay overnight and boondock. I had wanted to ask if it was ok to sleep in my vehicle overnight, but there was no one at the Ranger Station. I stopped at the Ranger Station to pay the entrance fee, and was surprised to find it was $20 (that seems kind of steep for a day visit). I’m hoping they were closed because it’s off season, and not due to Covid. I was surprised at how many establishments in South Dakota were closed. Once in the Black Hills I stopped at a Subway to get a sandwich, and a Starbucks to get my mug. It started out with lots of snow, but by the time I made it to Custer State Park the snow had ceased. The drive from North Dakota got easier as the miles went on.














Black elk peak